Découvrez l'authentique village de Gemeaux. Arpentez d'étroites ruelles, découvrez les halles du XVe siècle, d'anciens lavoirs et découvrez son église (XIIIe et XVe) qui domine le village et son joli lieu-dit 'La Charme' (où l'on peut pique-niquer). À découvrir en famille ! Pour les plus jeunes, un livret-jeux est disponible pour découvrir le village. Visites guidées de l'église tous les mardis de l'été, sur réservation à l'Office de tourisme.
Discover Gemeaux through nine historical places :
The house behind the well belonged to the mother of the classical composer Jean-Philippe Rameau.
The market hall dating from the 15th C was built by the Sire of Neufchastel (Lord of Gemeaux). Now it’s the town hall and a place for a small store.
The church from the 13th C was restored at the 15th C to transform it as a defense place. Mural painting, a tabernacle and a baroque altar are visible inside.
The Charme tower (end of 19th C) offers a beautiful panoramic about the area.
The virgin statue was built by Madame Loppin de Gemeaux in memory of her daughter.
The castle was built in 1682 by Jean Mochot. It was revamped in 1711 with the architect Edme Verniquet to be embellished.
The “Trèjes” are narrow passages which pass between closed gardens.
A brook (called le Rupino) flows from the “Fountain under the rock” and cross the wash house and the village.
The Plumeit House (15th C) is a typical half-timbered house.